Go back? Click to see a full list of all events

Event Details & Booking

Event Details
Organisation London Jewish Cultural Centre
Event Name
Event Type Film Screening
Venue London Jewish Cultural Centre
Email Address [javascript protected email address]
Telephone 02085117904
Website http://www.ljcc.org.uk/events/2729-double-exposure-br-jewish-refugees-from-austria-in-britain-br-i-f
Event Date/Time On Sunday 7th April 2013, 4:30PM until 6:30PM
Suitable For All
Admission Ticket Only
Cost Adult - £10.00 Child - £5.00 Concession - £5.00
Event Details -- 10 if you book in advance, 12 on the door! --

To commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Anschluss, the annexation of Austria by Nazi Germany on 12th March 1938, the London Jewish Cultural Centre is showing the photgraphic exhibition Double Exposure: Jewish Refugees from Austria in Britain. The exhibition is accompanied by a film, which follows the lives of the men and women depicted in the portraits and explores their double exposure to the cultures of Britain and Austria. Please find dates and opening times of the exhibition below.

On Sunday 7 April, the film will be followed by a panel discussion with the film maker and curator Dr Bea Lewkwoicz and some of the interviewees who feature in her film, including Ernst Flesch, Henry Ebner, and Elly Miller. The discussion, chaired by Dr Anthony Grenville, will focus on the experiences of the Jewish refugees from Austria, both in Vienna and in their adopted home in Britain, and explore their identities and their impact on British culture and society.

OPENING HOURS OF THE EXHIBITION "Double Exposure: Jewish Refugees from Austria in Britain":

Opening times
Tuesday 12 March 1-8pm
Wednesday 13 March 10am-1pm
Thursday 14 March 3-8pm
Friday 15 March 10am-1pm
Sunday 17 March 11am-1pm
Monday 18 March 10am-1pm
Tuesday 19 March 1-6pm
Thursday 21 March 11am-8pm
Friday 22 March 10am-1pm
Monday 25 March 10am-12pm
Thursday 28 March 10am-4pm
Wednesday 3 April 10am-4pm
Thursday 4 April 10am-4pm
Friday 5 April 10am-1pm
Monday 8 April 1-5pm

Operating under the auspices of The Board of Deputies of British Jews Charity No. 1058107